State Requirements for Social Workers State Requirements for Social Workers | CE Classes Continuing Education

State Requirements for Social Workers

State Requirements for Social Workers

State Requirements for Social Workers

State Requirements for Social Workers

Alabama
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? 20 hours can be self-study
Submission deadline: Last day of your renewal month
Website: Alabama State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 3 hours in ethics; All licensees and applicants are required to complete a mandatory Child Abuse and Neglect
Alaska
CE Required: 45 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted? Yes, no restrictions but only 8-10 hours a day. They don’t want all 45 credits to appear on certificates from the same day.
Submission deadline: 6/30 even years
Website: Alaska State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 6 hours in substance abuse education, 6 hours in cross-cultural education relating to Alaska Natives (first renewal, during the second renewal you only need 3 of the 6 cross-cultural education credits to be on Alaskan Natives), and 3 hours in professional ethics
Arizona
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: Date of Issue
Website: Arizona State Board of Behavioral Health Examiners Rules
Notes: 3 hours in behavioral health ethics or mental health law; 3 hours in cultural competency and diversity
Arkansas
CE Required: 48 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: Date of Issue
Website: Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board Rules
Notes: 3 hours Ethics required
California
CE Required: 36 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: CE-CLASSES.COM is approved by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. Continuing Education Provider – PCE 4297
Home study accepted? Yes, maximum of 18 hours
Submission deadline: On date of issue
Website: California State Board of Behavioral Sciences Rules
Notes: 7 hours of HIV/AIDS (within your first renewal period); 7 hours of Spousal/Partner Abuse (within your first renewal period); 3 hours in Aging and Long Term Care (within your first renewal period), 6 Hours in Ethics (every renewal period)
Colorado
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: NA
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: 8/31
Website: Colorado State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes:
Connecticut
CE Required: 15 hours each year
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted? Yes, up to six hours each registration (renewal) period
Submission deadline:-
Website: Connecticut State Department of Public Health Social Worker Rules
Notes: 2 hours of mental health conditions common to veterans and family members of veterans, including screening for conditions such as post-traumatic stress disorder, risk of suicide, depression and grief, and suicide prevention training; 1 hour in cultural competency
Delaware
CE Required: 45 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Yes
Submission deadline: 1/31 odd years
Website: Delaware State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 3 hours Ethics
District of Columbia
CE Required: 24 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NBCC
Home study accepted? Yes
Submission deadline: 7/31 odd years
Website: District of Columbia State Board of Social Work Members Rules
Notes:-
Florida
CE Required: 25 hours + 2 hours Medical Errors and 3 hours Ethics every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: Ce-classes.com is approved by the FLORIDA Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling (Board Approved Provider BAP # 852).
Home study accepted? Yes, no limit
Submission deadline: 3/31 odd years
Website: Florida State Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage & Family Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling Rules
Notes: 2 hrs Medical Errors, 3 hrs Ethics, 3 hrs Laws and Rules (every 3rd biennium), 2 hrs Domestic Violence
Georgia
CE Required: 35 hours every 2 years, only 10 hours of distance learning allowed
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Yes, 10 hours per renewal period
Submission deadline: 9/30 even years
Website: Georgia State Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers, and Marriage & Family Therapists Rules
Notes: 5 hours of ethics required (you can take the GA ethics online: click here: Georgia Ethics 5 hours)
Hawaii
CE Required: 45 Hours / triennial
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Yes, All Can be Completed Online!
Submission deadline: 2019
Website: Hawaii State Professional and Vocational Licensing Division Social Worker Program Rules
Notes: 3 hours of ethics
Idaho
CE Required: 20 hours / annually
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline:
Website: Idaho State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 1 hour of ethics per year required
Illinois
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: Ce-classes.com is an approved sponsor as we are an ASWB approved affiliate
Home study accepted – Max of 15 or 50 percent
Submission deadline: 11/30 odd years
Website: Illinois State Clinical Social Work Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics required
Indiana
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Yes, no restrictions
Submission deadline: 3/31 even-numbered years
Website: Indiana State Behavioral Health and Human Services Licensing Board Rules
Notes:-
Iowa
CE Required: 27 every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: 12/31 even years
Website: Iowa State Board of Social Work Rules
Notes:- 3 Hours of Ethics
Kansas
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: Date of issue
Website: Kansas Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board Social Work Rules
Notes: 3 hours professional ethics; (master social worker: 6 hours of diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders)
Kentucky
CE Required: 30 hours / every 3 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted? Yes, only 50% of CEs can be earned online
Submission deadline:
Website: Kentucky State Board of Social Work Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics (every renewal period); 3 hours domestic violence (one-time only); 1.5 hours of pediatric abusive head trauma (1 time every 6 years); 2 hours HIV/AIDS (every third renewal period)
Louisiana
CE Required: 20 hours per year
Sponsor Approval: APA
Home study accepted? 10 hours maximum per year
Submission deadline: 8/31
Website: Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: At least 3 hours must be in ethics. LCSWs: at least 10 clock hours of continuing education must be clinical content, including diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders.
Maine
CE Required: 25 hours / biennially
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: On the anniversary of the first licensure date
Website: Maine State Board of Social Worker Licensure Rules
Notes: 4 hours of ethics
Maryland
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Up to 20 hours allowed
Submission deadline: 10/31 every 2 years
Website: Maryland State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics
Massachusetts
CE Required: 20 hours
Sponsor Approval: State Authorization Number
Home study accepted? Yes
Submission deadline: 10/1 even years
Website: Massachusetts State Board of Registration of Social Workers Rules
Notes: LICSW 30 hours, LCSW 20 hours, LSW 15 hours, LSWA 10 hours every 2 years
Michigan
CE Required: 45 hours every 3 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Yes, a max of 10 hours can be online
Submission deadline: 8/30
Website: Michigan State Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Rules
Notes: 5 hours ethics, 1-hour pain & symptom management
Minnesota
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted? 15 hours may be independent study (Independent study must be for publication, public presentation, or professional development and includes, but is not limited to, electronic study.)
Submission deadline: Last day of birth month
Website: Minnesota State Board of Social Work Rules
Notes: 2 Hours in ethics (LICSW: 24 hours must be in clinical content, supervisors: 6 hours must be in the practice of supervision)
Mississippi
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted? 20 hours allowed
Submission deadline: LSW: Sept 30 / LMSW, LCSW: April 30
Website: Mississippi State Board of Examiners for Social Workers and Marriage & Family Therapists Rules
Notes: 4 hours of ethics, 2 hours of cultural diversity/multicultural issues/culturl competency
Missouri
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? 15 hours allowed
Submission deadline: 9/30 every 2 years
Website: Missouri State Committee for Social Workers Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics required
Montana
CE Required: 20 hours per year
Sponsor Approval: Must get approved at State level through Montana Board.
Home study accepted? Yes, no restriction.
Submission deadline: 11/01 – 12/31 each year
Website: Montana State Board of Behavioral Health Rules
Notes:-
Nebraska
CE Required: 32 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? 20 hours allowed
Submission deadline: 9/1 even years
Website: Nebraska State Professional and Occupational Licensure Social Worker Rules
Notes:-
Nevada
CE Required : LASW & LSW: 30 hrs/2 years; LCSW & ISW: 36 hrs/2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: Annually on the last day of the month of your birth
Website: Nevada State Board of Examiners for Social Workers
Notes: LASW & LSW: 2 hours Ethics, LCSW & ISW: 3 hours Ethics
New Hampshire
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? 20 hours
Submission deadline: 2 years from date of issue
Website: New Hampshire State Board of Mental Health Practice Rules
Notes: 6 hours of ethics required
New Jersey
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted? Yes, no restrictions
Submission deadline: 8/31 even years
Website: New Jersey State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 5 hours ethics, 3 hours multicultural
New Mexico
CE Required: 30 hours / biennially
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: 6/30
Website: New Mexico State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 6 hours Cultural Awareness
New York
CE Required : 36 hours / triennial
Sponsor Approval: Ce-Classes.com is approved by the New York State Board for Social Work, Board Approved Provider Number: #0120. Continuing education for: LMSWs and LCSWs
Home study accepted? Yes, 12 hours of self-study courses are allowed per renewal period.
Submission deadline: 1/1
Website: New York State Education Law Social Work Rules
Notes:
North Carolina
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? 20 hours allowed every year
Submission deadline: 6/30
Website: North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board Rules
Notes: 4 hours ethics required
North Dakota
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted? Yes, no more than ten (10) contact hours may be completed by self-study/distance learning methods.
Submission deadline: 12/31 odd years
Website: North Dakota Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes: 2 hours in Ethics
Ohio
CE Required ? 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: Ce-classes.com is an Ohio board approved sponsor – Provider # RCST031201
Home study accepted? Yes – now all hours can be completed with online or distance education courses
Submission deadline: 2 years from date of issue
Website: Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapist Board Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics required
Oklahoma
CE Required: 16 hours per 2 years
Sponsor Approval: Must get approval at State Level through Oklahoma Board.
Home study accepted? Board Discretion
Submission deadline: October 31st
Website: Oklahoma State Board of Licensed Social Workers Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics required
Oregon
CE Required : LCSW: 40 hrs / 2 years, LMSW: 30 hrs / 2 years, RBSW: 20 hrs / 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: DOB every 2 years
Website: Oregon Board of Licensed Social Workers Rules
Notes: 6 hours of Ethics
Pennsylvania
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, APA
Home study accepted? Yes, up to 20 hours can be home study
Submission deadline: 2/28
Website: Pennsylvania State Board of Social Workers, Marriage & Family Therapists, and Professional Counselors Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics. Courses must have a minimum of 2 CE’s but don’t need to be contiguous.
Rhode Island
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted? Yes
Submission deadline: 5/1 odd years
Website: Rhode Island Clinical Social Workers and Independent Clinical Social Workers Rules
Notes: 3 hours ethics, 3 hours cross-cultural practice
South Carolina
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Yes
Submission deadline: 12/31 even years
Website: South Carolina State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Notes:-
South Dakota
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: 12/31
Website: South Dakota State Board of Social Work Examiners Rules
Tennessee
CE Required: 15 hours per year
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Max of 10/yr
Submission deadline: 12/31 and DOB
Website: Tennessee Board of Social Worker Certification and Licensure Rules
Notes: 3 hours professional ethics, 10 hours in social work, and the remaining 2 hours can either be in social work or professional ethics
Texas
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: Last day of birth month
Website: Texas Board of Social Workers Board of Examiners Rules
Notes: 6 hours professional ethics
Utah
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: 9/30 even years
Website: Utah Occupational and Professional Licensing Social Worker Rules
Notes: 3 hours laws and ethics
Vermont
CE Required: 20 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted? 5 hours allowed
Submission deadline: Every two years on date of issue
Website: Vermont Office of Professional Regulation Social Worker Rules
Notes: 15 hours shall consist of formal education experiences. At least 1.5 hours shall be in ethics of social work practice, including such issues as boundaries, confidentiality, and dual relationships. No more than 5 hours may be in informal or self-directed educational activities.
Virginia
CE Required: 30 hours every years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB
Home study accepted? Yes
Submission deadline: 6/30 every years
Website: Virginia State Board of Social Work Rules
Notes: 2 hrs ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia
Washington
CE Required: 36 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: NASW
Home study accepted? Yes, Max 20 hours allowed
Submission deadline:
Website: Washington State Department of Health Social Worker Rules
Notes: 6 hours professional ethics and law
West Virginia
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval:
Home study accepted? max 20 hours allowed
Submission deadline:
Website: West Virginia State Board of Social Work Rules
Notes: There is no mandatory ethics requirement for fully licensed regular social workers. However, social work ethics education is highly encouraged by the Board.
Wisconsin
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: ASWB, NASW
Home study accepted?
Submission deadline: 2/28 odd years
Website: Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services Social Worker Rules
Notes: 4 hours of ethics and professional boundaries
Wyoming
CE Required: 45 hours every 2 years
Sponsor Approval: NASW
Home study accepted? Yes
Submission deadline: Date of birth
Website: Wyoming State Mental Health Professions Licensing Board Social Worker Rules
Notes: 3 hours of professional ethics
3 hours of professional ethics

Approved by the Following Agencies

Not all courses are approved by each agency. See each individual course description for specific approval information.

Approved Provider
NBCC
APA
NAADAC
Florida
BBS